View Past Mathematics Department Award Winners

Regents Professorship

Given to faculty, for truly distinguished scholarship.  Recipients must relinquish all other named professorships.

University Professorship

Given to faculty, for distinguished service to the University.

Research Professorship

Awarded to faculty members with a very high research profile for a five year term. Carries a reduction in teaching duties, a salary supplement, and money for travel and support of students.

Walter B. Hill Awards for Distinguished Public Service

Given to faculty and extension service personnel for exceptional service to the public.

Josiah Meigs Distinguished Teaching Professorship

The University's highest teaching award.

Richard B. Russell Undergraduate Teaching Award

Given to young faculty members for excellence in undergraduate teaching. Recipients must have been at UGA for at least 3 years, and have spent at most 10 years in a tenure-track position, at the time of the award.

General Sandy Beaver Teaching Award

Given to faculty members for outstanding teaching.

General Sandy Beaver Teaching Professorship

Given to faculty members for outstanding teaching.  Carries a salary supplement; requires a commitment to teach a standard load.

OISD Senior Fellow

Faculty members attend a monthly seminar on various topics related to teaching, and attend an annual retreat. They are given support to carry out a project related to teaching.

Lilly Fellowship

Similar to the OISD Senior Fellowship, but for faculty members who have been at UGA at most 3 years.

M. G. Michael Research Award

A cash award, given for an outstanding research proposal by a faculty member. Faculty may nominate themselves, and are expected to write their own proposals.

Creative Research Medal

Given to UGA faculty, for a research project, or a body of research with a single coherent theme, carried out over the past 5 years, identifiable as having been performed under the auspices of the University of Georgia.

Creative Research Award

Given to UGA faculty, for outstanding research which has received national or international recognition. One award is given across all the sciences.

Robert C. Anderson Award

Given to recent UGA graduates, who have written outstanding theses and have continued with excellent research after receiving the PhD.

Sarah Moss Fellowships

Scholarships for faculty members less than 35 years old, given for the purpose of studying at institutions outside the South. Faculty write their own applications.