Undergraduate Awards

The Charles M. Strahan Award - This award to outstanding junior mathematics majors was endowed by an anonymous former student of Dr. Charles M. Strahan, Professor of Civil Engineering and Mathematics from 1883 to 1945.

The Hollingsworth Award - Named in honor of Prof. John Hollingsworth, longtime colleague (1967-2000), department head (1992-1995), and--for most of us--the model of commitment to undergraduate teaching: this fund endows a scholarship for undergraduate mathematics majors.

Kossack Calculus Prize - Honors Carl F. Kossack, a retired member of the university's Mathematics and Statistics Departments. The grant supporting the prize was provided by one of Kossack's former calculus students in appreciation of Kossack's dedication to superior teaching. An exam is given every spring to determine this prize. Students are either nominated by a faculty member or may register themselves.

Past Undergraduate Award Winners