Skip to main content
Skip to main menu Skip to spotlight region Skip to secondary region Skip to UGA region Skip to Tertiary region Skip to Quaternary region Skip to unit footer


Mathematics Faculty Award Winners


Regents' Teaching Excellence Award for Department or Program, from the University System of Georgia

Mathematics Department (2022)

Regents' Teaching Excellence Award

Henry Edwards (1997)
Sybilla Beckmann Kazez (2012)

Josiah Meigs Teaching Professorship

Henry Edwards (1991)
Ted Shifrin (1997)
John Hollingsworth (1998)
Ed Azoff (2001)
Sybilla Beckmann-Kazez (2011)
Malcolm Adams (2015)

Beaver Teaching Professorship

Ted Shifrin (1994-97)
John Hollingsworth (1997-2000)
Sybilla Beckmann Kazez (2001-04)
Malcolm Adams (2005)
Clint McCrory (2007)
Ed Azoff (2010)

AMS Award for Impact on Teaching and Learning of Mathematics

Sybilla Beckmann (2024)

MAA Southeastern Section Distinguished Teaching Award

Carl Pomerance (1996) 
Ted Shifrin (2000)
Maurice Hendon (2015)

MAA Southeastern Section Distinguished Teaching Award by a Beginning College Mathematics Faculty Member

Toyin Alli (2022)

Senior Teaching Fellows

Henry Edwards (1990)
Ed Azoff (1995)

Russell Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching

Jason Cantarella (2007)
Paul Pollack (2022)

Beaver Teaching Award

H. Edwards (1979)
D. Penney (1980)
Lether (1981)
Bouldin (1984)
Saade (1986)
Dauenhauer (1989)
Shifrin (1991)
Hollingsworth (1992)
Azoff (1993)
C. Penney (1994)
McCrory (1995)
Beckmann Kazez (1997)
M. Hendon (1999)
Gard (2000)
Adams (2001)
Matic (2002)
Benson (2003) 
Kazez (2007)
Alexeev (2009)
Lyall (2012)
Townsley (2013)
Zabcic (2015)
Klipper (2017)
Pollack (2018)
Royal (2020)
Alli (2021)
Black (2022)

Creative Teaching Award

Jason Cantarella (2017)
David Gay (2020)

Outstanding Instructor Award

Susan Whitehead (2002)
Maurice Hendon (2003)
Carol Warnes (2004)
Natalia Alexeev (2005)
Allison Arnold (2006)
Cherilyn Rumely (2007)

Departmental Award for Outstanding Instruction

Jennifer Royal (2019)
Allison Arnold (2021)
Ming-Jun Lai (2022)
Maurice Hendon (2023)

J. Howard Hatten III Award - Named after late Geology Professor J. Hatten Howard III. Established to recognize faculty members who exhibit special promise in teaching Honors courses early in their careers. 

Mitchell Rothstein (1995) 

Lothar Tresp Outstanding Honors Professor -Originally named the Outstanding Honor Professor Award, this award was dedicated to Lothar Tresp, former Honors Program Director, in the mid-1990s. It recognizes superior teaching and dedication to Honors students in senior faculty members. Determined by the Honors Faculty Council and the Honors Program.

Charles Henry Edwards  (1972,1974,1975,1978,1979,1980,1981,1982,1982-Honoratus)
David Penney (1973,1974,1975,1976,1978,1982-Honoratus)
J. Marshall Saade  (1974,1976,1978,1979,1983,1983-Honoratus)
Frank Lether (1979,1984,1986,1990,1991,1992-Honoratus)
Carol Penney (1982,1988)
Ted Shifrin (1984,1986,1989,1990,1991,1992-Honoratus,2002,2010)
John Hollingsworth (1984,1985,1992,1998)
Peter Rice (1993)
Edward Azoff (1994,2005)



Alfred P. Sloan Foundation Fellow

Marion Kirk Fort 1958 
Andrew Granville 1992 
Valery Alexeev 1996

David C. Barrow Professorship

Established in 1961 by the University's Class of 1911 in honor of UGA President D. C. Barrow Jr. (in office 1906-1925). David Crenshaw Barrow joined the mathematics department in 1878, and served as department head and Dean of the Franklin College before his appointment as president.

M. Kirk Fort (1964-1964)
George Adomian (1966-1989)
Andrew Granville (1995-2002)
Valery Alexeev (2006-present)

Distinguished Research Professorship

Carl Pomerance (1984-1999)
Jon Carlson (1992-2002)
David Benson (2000-2005)
Valery Alexeev (2004- )
Dino Lorenzini (2006- )
Dan Nakano (2010- ) 

Lamar Dodd Creative Research Award

The Lamar Dodd Creative Research Award is given to recognize an outstanding body of nationally and internationally recognized scholarly or creative activities in the sciences.

Carl Pomerance (1989)
Andrew Granville (2000)
David Benson (2004)
Daniel Nakano (2016)
Paul Pollack (2024)

Creative Research Medal

Elliot Gootman (1982)
Ken Johnson (1983)
Robert Rumely (1984)
Michael Lapidus (1989)
Helmut Maier (1989)
Roy Smith- Robert Varley (1990)
Kevin Clancey (1993)
Red Alford-Andrew Granville-Carl Pomerance (1994)
David Benson (1998)
Qing Zhang (2000)
Valery Alexeev (2001)
Elham Izadi (2002)
Ming Jun Lai- Paul Wenston (2003)
Dino Lorenzini (2004)
Daniel Nakano (2007)
Joseph Fu (2011)
Will Kazez- Gordana Matic (2012)
Daniel Krashen (2013)
Michael Usher (2014)
David Gay (2021)
Giorgis Petridis (2024)

Fred C. Davison Early Career Scholar Award

Lin Mu (2023)

Michael Research Award

Carl Pomerance (1982)
Michael Lapidus (1989)
Malcolm Adams (1992)
Elliot Gootman (1994)
Joseph Fu (1997)
Qing Zhang (2009)

Sarah Moss Fellowship

Robert Varley (1986)
William Graham (1998)


Mathematics Department McCay Award 

Those eligible for the McCay Award are tenured members of the UGA Mathematics Department, apart from the Department Head, faculty members holding honorary professorships (such as Meigs, Beaver, University, or Regents Professorships, Research Professorships, or the Barrow Professorship), and current holders of the Award whose terms are not expiring.

Clint McCrory (1998)
Robert Rumely (2000)
Malcolm Adams (2002) 
Roy Smith (2003)
Robert Varley (2005)
David Galewski (2007, posthumously)
Daniel Nakano (2008)
Brian Boe (2009)
Jason Cantarella (2011)
Ming-Jun Lai (2013)
William Graham (2015)
Joseph Fu (2017)
Pete L. Clark (2019)
Neil Lyall (2021)
Mike Usher (2023)

Support us

We appreciate your financial support. Your gift is important to us and helps support critical opportunities for students and faculty alike, including lectures, travel support, and any number of educational events that augment the classroom experience. Click here to learn more about giving.

Every dollar given has a direct impact upon our students and faculty.