Skip to main content
Skip to main menu Skip to spotlight region Skip to secondary region Skip to UGA region Skip to Tertiary region Skip to Quaternary region Skip to unit footer


Description of University Awards

View Mathematics Faculty Award Winners.

View Mathematics Graduate Student Award Winners.


Regents Professorship

Given to faculty, for truly distinguished scholarship.  Recipients must relinquish all other named professorships.

University Professorship

Given to faculty, for distinguished service to the University.

Research Professorship

Awarded to faculty members with a very high research profile for a five year term. Carries a reduction in teaching duties, a salary supplement, and money for travel and support of students.

Walter B. Hill Awards for Distinguished Public Service

Given to faculty and extension service personnel for exceptional service to the public.

Josiah Meigs Distinguished Teaching Professorship

The University's highest teaching award.

Richard B. Russell Undergraduate Teaching Award

Given to young faculty members for excellence in undergraduate teaching. Recipients must have been at UGA for at least 3 years, and have spent at most 10 years in a tenure-track position, at the time of the award.

General Sandy Beaver Teaching Award

Given to faculty members for outstanding teaching.

General Sandy Beaver Teaching Professorship

Given to faculty members for outstanding teaching.  Carries a salary supplement; requires a commitment to teach a standard load.

CTL Senior Fellows

Faculty members attend a monthly seminar on various topics related to teaching, and attend an annual retreat. They are given financial support to carry out a project related to teaching.  Self-nominations are allowed.  Open to associate or full professors who have been at UGA for at least five years.  Administered by the Center for Teaching and Learning.

Lilly Fellowship

Similar to the CTL Senior Fellowship, but for tenure-track faculty members who have been at UGA at most 3 years.

CTL Fellows for Innovative Learning

Open to full-time faculty.  The topic varies by year.

Regional and National Teaching Awards

The CTL maintains a link listing various regional and national teaching awards.

M. G. Michael Research Award

This Franklin College award is a cash award, given for an outstanding research proposal by a faculty member. Faculty may nominate themselves, and are expected to write their own proposals. Deadline in November.

Sarah Moss Fellowships

Sarah H. Moss Fellowships, administered by CTL since 1987, provide funds for travel and related expenses for tenure-track faculty of the University of Georgia (Athens) pursuing advanced scholarship, research, and study in institutions of higher learning abroad and in the United States.  Funding is available in amounts of up to $10,000 and may include subsistence for family members. The award may be made twice.

The following awards are administered through the Office of Research.

Creative Research Medal

Given to UGA faculty, these are awarded for outstanding research or creative activity within the past five years that focuses on a single theme idenitified with the University of Georgia.

Creative Research Award (Lamar Dodd Award)

The Lamar Dodd Award is given to recognize an outstanding body of nationally and internationally recognized scholarly or creative activities in the sciences.

Early Career Scholar Award (Fred C. Davison)

Named in honor of the University of Georgia’s 18th President, this award recognizes outstanding accomplishment and evidence of potential future success in scholarship, creative work or research by an early career faculty member in the sciences.

Postdoctoral Research Award

Created in 2011, Postdoctoral Research Awards recognize the remarkable contributions of postdoctoral research scholars to the UGA research enterprise. The UGA Research Foundation funds up to two awards a year to current scholars.

Robert C. Anderson Award

This award is given to recent Ph.D.s for outstanding research at the University or immediately after graduating.

Graduate Student Excellence-in-Research Award

This award recognizes the quality and significance of graduate student scholarship at the University of Georgia.

Dissertation Completion Assistantship

Dissertation completion assistantships are awarded to doctoral students in their final year of study on a competitive basis. Students must be nominated by their program, and nominations are reviewed by a faculty panel.



Support us

We appreciate your financial support. Your gift is important to us and helps support critical opportunities for students and faculty alike, including lectures, travel support, and any number of educational events that augment the classroom experience. Click here to learn more about giving.

Every dollar given has a direct impact upon our students and faculty.