

PRESS RELEASE

CONTACT: Jennifer Lewis, Managing Director 703-934-0163, ext. 213 703-359-7562, fax jennifer@awm-math.org

August 5, 2013

Sybilla Beckmann honored with Hay Award

The Association for Women in Mathematics (AWM) will present the TWENTY-FOURTH ANNUAL LOUISE HAY AWARD to Sybilla Beckmann, Josiah Meigs Distinguished Teaching Professor of Mathematics at

the University of Georgia, at the Joint Mathematics Meetings in Baltimore, MD in January 2014. Established in 1991, the Hay Award recognizes outstanding achievements in any area of mathematics education. Louise Hay was widely recognized for her contributions to mathematical logic, for her strong leadership as Head of the Department of Mathematics, Statistics, and Computer Science at the University of Illinois at Chicago, for her devotion to students,

and for her lifelong commitment to nurturing the talent of young women and men. The annual presentation of this award is intended to highlight the importance of mathematics education and to evoke the memory of all that Hay exemplified as a teacher, scholar, administrator, and human being.

The 2014 Louise Hay Award is presented to Sybilla Beckmann in recognition of her vision, persistence, and leadership in enhancing the teaching and learning of mathematics in this country and beyond. Her work is based on her insight that sustainable improvement in mathematics education can only occur when the mathematical culture in the schools and the universities is "built on respect for the innate mathematical abilities that are the birthright of every student." She has worked to energize every link of this chain, from the daily challenges that teachers face in their classrooms to the highest levels of the national discussions of K-12 education.

Beckmann has made substantial contributions to Galois theory. She began her career as a Gibbs Instructor Yale University and has been at the University of

Georgia since 1988. More bravely, she taught sixth grade for a year and volunteered at another elementary school where she "started a math revolution." Her redesigned mathematics courses for prospective

elementary teachers led to her highly regarded and widely adopted textbook *Mathematics for Elementary Teachers*. She created and is the director of the Mathematicians Educating Future Teachers program funded by a VIGRE (Vertical Integration of Research and Education) grant from the National Science Foundation.

Beckman was a writer of the NCTM's Curriculum Focal Points for

PreKindergarten through Grade Eight and two supplemental books. She played a significant role in writing the Common Core State Standards in Mathematics and was the lead author on the elementary grades for *The Mathematical Education of Teachers II*. She also advises the Partnership for Assessment of Readiness for College and Careers (PARCC) assessment consortium.

Beckmann has won several teaching awards, including the General Sandy Beaver Teaching Professorship awarded by the College of Arts and Sciences at the University of Georgia, the Josiah Meigs Distinguished Teaching Professorship, which is the highest teaching honor at the University of Georgia, and the Regents' Teaching Award from the University System of Georgia.

The AWM is pleased to honor Dr. Sybilla Beckmann for her career achievements—as a teacher, researcher, and in service to the mathematics education community – in furthering the cause of mathematics education on behalf of all elementary school students.

The 2014 Joint Mathematics Meetings will be held January 15-18 in Baltimore, MD. For further information on the Hay Award, including past winners, please visit www.awm-math.org.