Kossack Prize for Outstanding Calculus Students

The 2018 Kossack Prize calculus exam will be given on Wednesday, April 4, 2018, 4:00pm-6:00pm, Room 323 Boyd Graduate Studies Bldg.

The awards for the top three finishers will consist of certificates and modest cash prizes (totaling about $300), to be presented at the Mathematics Department Awards Day on April 23, 2018.

Any undergraduate student who has not taken the test before and who will have completed MATH 2260, MATH 2310H, MATH 2410 or 2410H in any semester after spring 2017 (including spring 2018 is eligible. Any first-year student who earned AP credit for MATH 2260 during fall 2017 is also eligible. The exam is based on the standard topics in MATH 2250-2260, but not including sequences, series, or vectors. See the webpage


Kossack Topics

Kossack Exam 2006

Students interested in taking the Kossack Prize exam should register with Julie McEver by sending an email to juleigh @ uga dot edu. The email registration should include: name, student I.D. number, phone number, e-mail address, major, list of calculus courses taken (including semester, year, instructor's name, and grade). No later than March 30, 2018.

The award honors Carl F. Kossack, a retired member of the university's Mathematics and Statistics Departments. The grant supporting the prize was provided by one of Kossack's former calculus students in appreciation of Kossack's dedication to superior teaching.

The 2018 Kossack Award Committee consists of
Lenny Chastkofsky, Roy Segars and Gary Iliev